Rebecca Heishman

agrange Rebecca Heishman

What is your latest release and what genre is it? My book is entitled The Misadventures of Millie. I would include it in: humor and family fiction with a hint of autobiography.

Quick description: The Misadventures of Millie is a little book chock full of humor, love, and dog wisdom. This book was born as a result of a Facebook community page that I launched in 2010 called Misty-the-Dog and Friends. I used the page as a tool to take my mind off multiple sclerosis, the illness that had turned my life upside down. I began writing and posting daily humorous stories as told by my dogs. The feedback from the followers of the page was extraordinarily positive and my audience grew and grew. Many of my followers suggested that I publish a book of the stories. So, I did, and the response has been amazing. I use the money from book sales to help regional animal welfare/rescue organizations. My dogs have all been rescues. They have provided me with the only unconditional love I’ve ever known. I even credit an old yellow mutt named Misty with saving my life when I was sick and depressed and seriously considering suicide as a way out of my dilemma. I looked into Misty’s eyes and saw a reason to live. She is gone now. But, I am here because I saw her as the only bright light in my world when everything in my life had gone cold and dark. Misty will always be my muse. I give back to animals in need in memory of her and all the beautiful animals who never made it out of shelters and puppy mills alive.

aCover

Brief biography: I am a lifelong poet and writer. I became a new author at the age of 62 and I’m proud of that. I proved to myself that I am more than a disease. In 2002 I was totally disabled for three years by multiple sclerosis. I achieved remission of my disease and began writing again, this time with a focus and a frenzy to get out there amongst other writers and prove to myself that I could legitimately be their contemporary. I feel that I’m doing that and I’m getting stronger every day in my belief that what I have to contribute to the world does matter.

Links to buy Rebecca’s book:
The Misadventures of Millie: Tate Publishing

Rebecca’s promo links:
Website
Facebook
Misty-the-Dog and Friends
LinkedIn
Blog
Twitter

What are you working on now?
The Misadventures of Millie is becoming a dedicated series which is very exciting to me. The second installation tentatively entitled The Misadventures of Millie – Rodney and the Legendary Cricket Family Rescue will be released in the spring. Many more will follow.

Becky also ran an update on ReadingRecommendations talking about her other public promotions and the man who inspired her to help rescue dogs.

Rebecca’s reading recommendation:
I love The Cynthia’s Attic Series by Mary Cunningham. These are magical tales for tween girls that are, as one reviewer put it, ‘somewhere between the Harry Potter tales and the mysteries of Nancy Drew.’ Keep in mind — these stories are also highly entertaining for adults who have managed to hang onto their child-like imaginations. I’ve read them all. (Mary Cunningham will be the next featured author on Reading Rcommendations!)

attic

15 thoughts on “Rebecca Heishman

Leave a Reply

