Bruce Gillespie

I’d like to make a personal comment about today’s Reading Recommendation. I have not yet had the opportunity to read this book, but I believe it is a very important publication. A Family by Any Other Name first came to my attention when my good friend, Calgary-author Betty Jane Hegerat, told me her essay had been accepted for inclusion in the anthology. Ever since that day, I have been doing my best to help spread the word about the book, and since it was officially published on April 8th, I am very proud to now be able to include it’s editor, Bruce Gillespie, as my Reading Recommendation for today. smt

Bruce-Gillespie1-257x300

Bruce Gillespie

What is your latest release and what genre is it? My latest book is A Family by Any Other Name: Exploring Queer Relationships, an anthology of personal essays, published by TouchWood Editions.

Quick description: At no other time in history have lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered (LGBT) relationships and families been more visible or numerous. A Family by Any Other Name recognizes and celebrates this advance by exploring what “family” means to people today. The anthology includes a wide range of perspectives on queer relationships and families—there are stories on coming out, same-sex marriage, adopting, having biological kids, polyamorous relationships, families without kids, divorce, and dealing with the death of a spouse, as well as essays by straight writers about having a gay parent or child. These personal essays are by turns funny, provocative, and intelligent, but all are moving and honest. Including writers from across North America, this collection offers honest and moving real-life stories about relationships and creating families in the twenty-first century.

FamilyByAnyOtherName_cvr_cat-220x300

Brief biography:
Bruce Gillespie is an award-winning Canadian writer and editor and an assistant professor in the digital media and journalism program at Wilfrid Laurier University’s Brantford campus. He is also the editor-in-chief of J-Source.ca, a hub for news, analysis, and commentary about Canadian journalism. Bruce, with Lynne Van Luven, was the co-editor of two previous anthologies of personal essays: Somebody’s Child: Stories About Adoption and Nobody’s Father: Life Without Kids.

Links to buy A Family by Any Other Name:
Amazon.ca – Canada – eBook and print
Amazon.com – US – eBook and print
Indigo.ca – print
Kobo – eBook
iTunes

Bruce’s promo links:
BruceGillespie.com
Twitter
A Family by Any Other Name Facebook group
A Family by Any Other Name: TouchWood Editions
Goodreads
An interview on Metro Morning, CBC Radio Toronto
Report on the Toronto launch

What are you working on now?
With A Family by Any Other Name now hitting bookshelves, I’m in between projects at the moment, but I have a few ideas in mind that I intend to start working on just as soon as I catch my breath.

Bruce’s reading recommendation:
As you might guess from my publishing history, I’m a big fan of personal essays. So, I was delighted when one of my favourite novelists, Ann Patchett, released a collection of essays recently called This is the Story of a Happy Marriage. Her nonfiction is every bit as good as her fiction, and it’s the sort of book you want to read as slowly as possible, to enjoy each and every word and make it last as long as possible. (I absolutely agree with Bruce’s recommendation. I recently read the book and thought it to be an excellent collection of essays. smt)

Betty Jane Hegerat and ‘Nathan Burgoine, two of the contributors to A Family by Any Other Name have been featured on Reading Recommendations.

4 thoughts on “Bruce Gillespie

Leave a Reply

