Rebecca Heishman – update on a couple of events

Rebecca Heishman was featured on Reading Recommendations Feb. 25 this year and is back now to tell readers about a couple of important events that are coming up soon and to give us some more background information as to why she has become an advocate for animal welfare and rescue organizations. (And if you cannot join Rebecca in person on these dates, you may want to consider donating by purchasing her book online. All links to purchase are included in the earlier blog post.)

Author and animal welfare advocate Rebecca Heishman will join the National Library Week Author Fair at Jeffersonville Township Public Library in Jeffersonville, Indiana, on Thursday, April 17, from 3 PM to 7 PM. Over 25 authors will be participating. All of the money obtained from Rebecca Heishman’s book The Misadventures of Millie will go directly to Animal Adoption Network, Inc., a southern Indiana animal rescue group. There will be a representative from the rescue group sitting with her, and book buyers may obtain a tax-exempt receipt for all books sold if they would like one.

On Saturday, April 19th from 11 AM to 3 PM, Rebecca Heishman will be the featured guest author at Café 27, located at 145 East Main Street in New Albany, Indiana, from 11 AM – 3 PM. She will be signing and selling copies of her book The Misadventures of Millie. All money from Rebecca Heishman’s public book events is always donated directly to animal welfare/rescue organizations in the Kentuckiana area. Animal Adoption Network, Inc., is an Indiana regional 501(c)3 non-profit animal welfare/rescue organization dedicated to the re-homing of abandoned animals in the Southern Indiana area. They will benefit from this book event.

BookMillie1

The Misadventures of Millie is a little book with a big message. It is chock-full of humor, love, and dog wisdom, as told by Rebecca Heishman’s rescued 8-pound Chihuahua, Millie. Millie survived a life as a breeder dog, as well as a stint in a high-kill shelter. But, Millie doesn’t let her tragic past get her down. As Millie so wisely exclaims, “It doesn’t matter what happened to you yesterday. All that really matters is what you do with the time you have today.”

Animal Adoption Network, Inc.

DogEckart2

More About Rebecca Heishman:
My parents were animal welfare advocates long before that phrase was coined. My big tough manly father would drag all the stray dogs home to the freedom of our farm, and they would run and play, and we would love them for the rest of their natural lives. In this photo, My father is actually toting one of his many rescued dogs. Dad was a mail carrier in our town at the time, working a walking route. He was one of the fellows who had a big brown satchel full of mail hanging from his shoulder and he would walk house-to-house delivering mail. One day, in a heavy rain, a little stray dog walked behind him the whole afternoon. She was filthy, caked in mud, and had a forlorn look in her eyes. Dad couldn’t stand it. After he returned to the post office and finished his paperwork, he returned to the street where she was and brought her home. She was filthy. My mom bathed her. A beautiful copper-colored coat emerged from all the filth. We named her Penny, and she lived with us as a beloved house dog for many years. She had her own special place on our couch, and a special place in her heart for my dad. Wherever Dad was, Penny was there.

There were no animal shelters or animal welfare groups in our rural community back then. Some years, there wasn’t even a veterinarian within driving distance. If a person came upon an abandoned animal in need, they had to choose between driving on and hoping for the best for the animal, or stopping and doing the right thing. My parents did the right thing, always. After I became an adult and went out into the world, I realized how unique my parents were. It surprised me that very few people did “the right thing.” I give back to the animals in my senior years in memory of the parents who went before me. My parents have been dead for years. But, the lessons they taught me live on in every book I sell.

Amazon Author Page
Website (under construction)

I use my books to keep my mind off disease problems. Chronic illness will envelop you if you don’t keep your mind active. I have to stay busy to keep from thinking like a sick person too much. Plus, so far, I have been able to help with some animal rescues that have been very satisfying for me. These animal rescue folks work hard, and a lot of what they do holds unexpected expenses. They had one rescue that required them to drive a fairly long distance. They needed gas in the rescue van. I was able to give them gas money because I’d sold a few books at a small local book event here. They sustain the organization on donations alone. Small donations like that go a long way. I paid the vet bill for a needy rescue dog who had been abused by an owner. He got well, and now he’s living in a wonderful home. I enjoy this very much. I am not the hero here. The rescuers are. I keep that first and foremost in my mind. It keeps me grounded.

You may follow Rebecca Heishman and her animal advocacy efforts on this Facebook page:
Misty-the-Dog and Friends

Thank you, Rebecca! For writing, and for all that you do to help the animals!

4 thoughts on “Rebecca Heishman – update on a couple of events

Leave a Reply

