Kimmy Beach

738092_10151427922475774_1691071906_oKimmy Beach

What is your latest release and what genre is it? The Last Temptation of Bond (The University of Alberta Press, 2013). It’s no genre and every genre. Poetry, straight prose, and drama mostly. The back of the book says, “Poetry” but very little of it is that. Because I’m primarily known as a poet, and because it had to be classified as something, it’s poetry. I prefer to think of it as a book.

Quick description: James Bond dies. But he brings it all on himself.

9780888646439_large

Brief biography:
This is my fifth book and my editor, Peter Midgley, just won the Editors’ Association of Canada’s Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence for his work on it. I’m the most fortunate writer in Canada to have that guy on my side. I run a manuscript evaluation service and love mentoring to emerging writers.

Links to buy Kimmy’s book:
University of Alberta Press
Amazon Worldwide – eBook and print

Kimmy’s promo links:
Website
Twitter

What are you working on now?
I’m putting the finishing touches on a novella which I hope will be my sixth book. Somewhere in the back of my crowded head percolates a collection of prose poems about 1970s romance comics and the TV show, This is Tom Jones! (1969-1971).

Kimmy’s reading recommendation:
Prose: Stylistically new and innovative, completely original: Isobel & Emile (Coach House Press, 2010) by Alan Reed.
Poetry: Barry Dempster, always. His latest is Invisible Dogs (Brick Books, 2013).

6 thoughts on “Kimmy Beach

Leave a Reply

