Jane V. Blanchard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Jane V. Blanchard

What is your latest release and what genre is it? Women of the Way: Embracing the Camino is a nonfiction travel memoir.

Quick description: Women of the Way: Embracing the Camino is a heartfelt and personal recounting of the author’s 500-mile pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago.

Learn how she prepared for the trek, the daily rituals in long-distance walking, the camaraderie and conversations with women she met along the way, the personal changes, and the beauty and appeal of the most popular of all the pilgrimages to Santiago de Compostela, the Camino Francés.

front cover v2.0

Brief biography:
As a backpacker, I write about my adventures for your escape and entertainment.

I am an adventurer, author, public speaker, and blogger. I was born in Hartford, Connecticut, lived in Hampstead, New Hampshire, twenty-three years before moving to Sarasota, Florida, where I now reside.

I climbed Mount Washington, in 1974. Since that initial ascent, I have climbed twenty of the forty 4,000-foot mountains in New England.

I started mountain bike racing at age 50; in 2002, I won second place in the Masters Division EFTA (Eastern Fat Tire Association) Championship Series.

In September and October 2011 and at 60 years old, I took my first long walk–the Camino de Santiago, a 500-mile pilgrimage across northern Spain. As I walked, I talked with women from different nations. The book, Women of the Way, weaves these conversations with my journey.

When I married Dennis in 1974, we joked about creating a lifetime of memories to chat about when sitting in our rockers in old age. At 64 years old, we are still creating memories, experiencing life as fully as possible, and looking forward to a long future.

In 2013 we hiked and biked through thirteen European countries, and now I am writing about those adventures. My next book will be on Hadrian’s Wall Path.

This year we returned to Europe and back packed for seven weeks. I plan to write about those adventures for your escape and entertainment.

Links to buy Jane’s book:
The print and ebook are available on Amazon. You can purchase an autographed copy at Women of the Way order page

Jane’s promo links:
Email: janevblanchard (at) gmail.com
The book web site
Author’s blog
Facebook page
Pinterest
Twitter
Youtube. Book Trailer–Women of the Way: Embracing the Camino

What are you working on now?
I am currently working (about 90% done) on a book about my hiking adventures on Hadrian’s Wall.

Jane’s reading recommendation:
I just found a new serial paranormal romance writer whose books I cannot put down: D. S. Williams’ The Nememiah Chronicles are addictive.

Prior to this I read Deadly Dozen: 12 Mysteries/Thrillers. It is a compilation of 10 full length novels and 2 long novellas. These works by comtemporary authors gave me hours of reading pleasure.

One thought on “Jane V. Blanchard

Leave a Reply

