Kim McCullough

I’m so pleased to be promoting Kim McCullough on Reading Recommendations, not only because she’s a writing pal I’ve known since we first met at the Fernie Writers’ Conference in 2009, or because she entered my Coffee Shop Author contest, or because I read parts of this novel during writing workshops and then the complete manuscript just before it was published – and always considered Clearwater to be brilliant and Kim a fine writer – but mainly because Kim McCullough was just named the Best Woman Writer at the High Plains BookFest Awards 2014 held in Billings, MT, over the weekend! Congratulations, Kim!

IMG_2679 Kim McCullough

What is your latest release and what genre is it? My latest release is Clearwater. It is literary fiction.

Quick description: Claire Sullivan quickly settles into her new home at Clearwater Lake in northern Manitoba, and befriends Jeff Carson, a quiet mixed-race loner who lives with his parents in the other half of the Sullivans’ duplex. Together, the teens roam the wild, isolated beauty of the nearby lakeshore and forest, forging a deep friendship based on loyalty and trust.

clear

Brief biography: I am a teacher and writer from Calgary, AB. My essay on post-partum depression was the 2014 winner of the Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award, and has recently been published in Grain. My novel Clearwater has won for the High Plains Best Book by a Woman Writer Award. I completed my MFA in Creative Writing at UBC in May.

“High Plains BookFest winners announced” – article in The Billings Gazette

10499502_10152353120831930_4359079819973336763_o

Links to buy Kim’s book:
Coteau Books
Amazon – eBook and paperback
Chapters/Indigo – paperback
Kobo – eBook

Kim’s promo links:
Website
Twitter
Facebook

What are you working on now?
I have numerous projects on the go, including a prequel to Clearwater, some poetry and a few essays. I am doing a lot of teaching and mentoring right now, re-energizing and re-filling the writer’s well after finishing my MFA.

Kim’s reading recommendation:
One Hour in Paris by Karyn Freedman (published by Freehand Books) was a brilliant book. I also really enjoyed Wallflowers by Eliza Robertson.

2 thoughts on “Kim McCullough

Leave a Reply

