Neil Bennion

Neil Neil Bennion

What is your latest release and what genre is it? Dancing Feat: One Man’s Mission to Dance Like a Colombian. It’s a travel memoir (and possibly a dance memoir, if such a thing exists).

Quick description: Dancing Feat is the story of how I attempted to overcome my dance-floor failings by going to Colombia and learning to dance like a local.

I’d had enough of being the guy leaning on the bar moving just part of his body in time with the music as if to say “I could dance if I wanted to – I just choose not to” (or worse – getting drunk and actually giving it a go) and decided it was time to finally do something about it.

Cover

Brief biography:
Please excuse me whilst I slip momentarily into the third person.

Neil Bennion is a writer, traveler and mucker-abouter. He was born in 1974 in Lancashire, England, and left his previous career in IT when he realized he much preferred prancing about in foreign countries to discussing technical scope changes.

As well as writing, he’s also prone to doing turns as a public speaker and voice-over artist. In 2014 he gave a TEDx talk on the subject of traveling with a narrative.

Neil stopped drinking some years ago, for health reasons. It was a change which, in part, motivated him to go to Colombia and face up to his shortcomings on the dance floor.

He tends to wander quite a bit by nature, but was last seen hanging about in Poland.

Links to buy Neil’s book:
Amazon – ebook and paperback.

Neil’s promo links:
Blog
Twitter
Google+

What are you working on now?
I’m currently looking into various ideas for my next book, which also means my next trip. I’ve just about managed to narrow the location down to three continents. The final stage of the process will probably involve some dice rolling.

Neil’s reading recommendation:
It’s pretty well-known, and it’s not without its flaws, but I would still recommend Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art. There’s something about treating procrastination like a force, and giving it a name (‘resistance’), that is very powerful. If nothing else, it’s a book that helps you gain awareness of the times when you think you’re being productive but are actually just avoiding the thing you should really be doing.

7 thoughts on “Neil Bennion

  1. hey Neil, your book is a super nice read! As a proud owner of a paper copy I must say it’s full of sun and witty observations. It makes me think about holidays and travelling so that I become completely relaxed, while reading.

    Don’t leave Poland too soon, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

