Laura Best

In December, I stumbled upon Laura Best’s blog and realized that I had been her sales rep (for Nimbus Publishing) when her first novel Bitter, Sweet was published. I remembered that being an enjoyable book, so I invited Laura to Reading Recommendations to tell us about her latest novel.

CROP3434Laura Best

What is your latest release and what genre is it? My latest release is Flying With a Broken Wing and it’s a historical YA novel.

Quick description: Cammie Deveau began life with a few strikes against her. She’s visually impaired, abandoned by her mother at birth, her father was a casualty of the Second World War—and if all that isn’t enough, she’s being raised by her bootlegging aunt. No wonder she dreams of starting a brand new life.

When Cammie learns about a school for blind and visually impaired children she becomes convinced a new life is waiting for her in Halifax, but how will she ever convince her aunt to let her go? With the help of her best friend, they devise a plan to blow up the local moonshiner’s still. But Cammie has not managed to change her luck, and things get worse than she ever imagined.

Flying book

Brief biography:
I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. In 2010, my first YA novel, Bitter, Sweet was short listed for The Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People and made the 2011 Best Books for Kids & Teens list. I also write short fiction for adults and my work has appeared in numerous literary magazines across Canada as well as several anthologies. My short story Alexander the Great was nominated for the Journey Prize.

Links to buy Laura’s book:
Amazon Canada – eBook and paperback
Amazon US – eBook and paperback
Chapters/Indigo – paperback
Kobo – eBook
Nimbus Publishing website
Laura’s promo links:
My blog
Facebook
Twitter

What are you working on now?
I’m currently working on an adult novel about a woman’s life-long journey through mental illness and the effects of the disease, not only on herself, but those closest to her.

Laura’s reading recommendation:
I enjoy the writing of Syr Ruus. Her books, Lovesongs of Emmanuel Taggart, Devil’s Hump and The Story of Gar inspire to me strive for more in my own writing.

7 thoughts on “Laura Best

Leave a Reply

