Dan McNeil

Dan Keyboard Dan McNeil

What is your latest release and what genre is it? My latest release is Can’t Buy Me Love, a story of love, larceny and revenge all played out against the backdrop of the British musical invasion of the Beatles in 1964.

I’m not sure what category it falls under, to be honest. Can I make one up? How about “Historical Fiction Caper with a twist of Heist…?”

Quick description: Urban legend states that during the hour The Beatles performed on The Ed Sullivan Show for the first time, not a major crime was committed in New York City.

Sonny Carter, an aging bank robber has just been released from prison after serving a 25-year sentence for trying to rob the prestigious Hudson National Bank and Trust Company. Unrepentant, Sonny is determined to finish what he started back in ’39 – robbing the very same bank. And he figures there is no better time to strike than in the hour the entire world is tuned in to see four crop-topped singers from Britain on The Ed Sullivan Show. He gathers up his old gang and enlists the help of a sexy bank employee, unaware she has a shady secret and larcenous plans of her own.

Can't Buy Me Love cover

Brief biography:
Though I was born in Toronto, I call the nation’s capital Ottawa my home. I’ve been a video editor for over thirty years. I discovered a passion for writing while researching my first book, The Judas Apocalypse (published in 2008). My second novel, Can’t Buy Me Love, is a light hearted romp about a bank heist during the Beatles’ historic visit to the United States in 1964. The Judas Apocalypse cover

Links to buy Dan’s book:
Can’t Buy Me LoveKindle US, Kindle Canada

The Judas ApocalypsePrint US, Print Canada, Kindle US, Kindle Canada

Dan’s promo links:
Twitter
Facebook
Website
Blog

What are you working on now?
Right now, I’m helping a fellow author with some copy editing, as well as putting notes together for my next novel.

Dan’s reading recommendation:
Jeffery Deaver is my favourite author – real page-turning stuff. A particular fave is his The Blue Nowhere. I also really enjoyed local Ottawa author Jasmine Aziz’s book Sex and Samosas – funny and touching; a really great read.

Leave a Reply

