Dave Riese

DaveRieseDave Riese

What is your latest release and what genre is it? Echo from Mount Royal, a romance novel

Quick description: Montreal, 1951. Rebecca, an 18-year-old girl from a working class, Catholic-Jewish family falls in love. Her courtship with a handsome man from Westmount fulfills her romantic dreams and his wealth introduces her to a world of upper-class privilege. But class, religion, sexual secrets and family conflict test their love. And then, a late-night telephone call changes her life forever.

Cover for 'Echo from Mount Royal'

Brief biography:
I grew up in Arlington, Massachusetts. I attended Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, majoring in English literature. During my junior year, I studied at Oxford University and travelled in Europe.

After graduating in 1968, I enlisted in the Air Force, avoiding my draft board’s kind invitation to join the army and travel to Vietnam. I married Susan, my high school girlfriend, during leave.

Discharged from the military in 1972, I became a computer programmer. I began writing short stories and a novel, but wasn’t disciplined enough to write much over the next 25 years.

After 35 years in information technology, I retired in the spring of 2012. I had a long talk with myself, “If you want to publish a book, you’d better take writing seriously.” I published a novel, Echo from Mount Royal, in January 2015.

My wife and I live north of Boston. We have a son and daughter and four grandchildren.

Links to buy Dave’s book:
Amazon
Smashwords
B&N
Kobo

Dave’s promo links:
Website
Twitter
Amazon Author Page
Goodreads Author Page
Facebook
Echo of Mount Royal Facebook Page
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Book Trailer (YouTube)

What are you working on now?
My next project?

Authors are superstitious about discussing their next project. They may discover after six months of writing that the novel or memoir isn’t working and abandon it. Inevitably, the writer often underestimates the time required to finish the work (I needed an extra year for my novel), then feels compelled to justify why the book is taking so long to complete. These discussions can be depressing.

Nevertheless, I often ignore my own advice. My next book is about the last years in the lives of the main character’s parents when he faces the fact that they will not be with him much longer. Watching them fail both physically and mentally causes him to confront his own mortality. The novel will explore how memories change over time to reveal one’s parents in a different light. Of course, there will be juicy family secrets. I hope to show how memories both deceive us and encourage us to reexamine our lives.

And, no, I do not know when it will be finished.

Dave’s reading recommendation:
I’m partial to Irish authors. Recently, I enjoyed the novel Brooklyn by Colm Toibin.

10 thoughts on “Dave Riese

    • JJSpina Thanks for your comments. I often wonder how many people actually read these blogs, but obviously Susan has a loyal following. As someone new to all this, I am amazed at how many authors there are ‘out there’ and how many are so supportive of each other. Dave

      PS My website DaveRiese.com has some background about how I came to write this book, plus a couple of short stories based on the Rebecca character when she was younger.

      • Nice to meet you, Dave. Yes, we authors are a supportive group. We are all in this profession together and need each other’s support. I will check out your blog soon. Thank you for stopping by! 😊

  1. I love to see male romance authors and Echo from Mount Royal sounds intriguing. And your next book sounds great, too. Thanks for the spotlight on Dave Riese, a new-to-me author.

  2. Amreade
    Thanks for leaving a comment. It’s always nice to know that one’s work is making its way in the world. Several reviewers have said that they couldn’t believe a man had written the book. I never would have written a romance like this, but when an 81-year-old woman shared her experience with me, I couldn’t get it out of my head. Luckily she was very gracious about letting me ‘write it up’ (she thought it would a nice, short story!) and a good sport to let me fictionalize most of the details.

    PS My website DaveRiese.com has some background about how I came to write this book, plus a couple of short stories based on the Rebecca character when she was younger.

    • Tricia Thanks for your comment. I’ve learned very quickly how popular Susan’s blog is. A privilege to be in the company of a great group of writers.
      Dave

Leave a Reply

