Mike Martin – an update on a new novel

Mike Martin was previously featured on Reading Recommendations in November, 2013, and again in May, 2014. He’s back now to tell us about a new novel!


A Twist of Fortune
by Mike Martin

The small town of Grand Bank in southeast Newfoundland, at the very eastern tip of Canada is in crisis. Their largest employer and a link to the glorious past, the fish plant is closing. Sgt. Winston Windflower’s personal life is also in crisis since his longtime girlfriend, Sheila Hillier is leading a community protest to try and stop the closure. It may be too late for the fish plant, but is it too late for Windflower and Sheila?

If that isn’t enough, they are being buried in snow and an epidemic of prescription drug abuse that is creating major problems for people and the police who patrol the area. An accidental death on a snow-covered highway leads only to more questions and more problems for Sgt. Windflower and the RCMP to resolve.

A Twist of Fortune is the fourth book in the Sgt. Windflower Mystery Series and it continues the adventures of Sgt. Windflower as he tries to solve crime and experience the joy and the sadness of life in a small Newfoundland community. Follow along as he feels the sometimes bitter taste of an east coast winter and the unique culinary delights of this part of the world. This story is like the weather in Newfoundland. It can twist and turn at any time.

The Sgt. Windflower Mystery Series is set in small fishing communities on the southeast coast of Newfoundland on the easternmost tip of Canada. They feature RCMP Sgt. Winston Windflower, a Cree from Northern Alberta who fights crime, solves murders and tries to have a good time doing it. There are now four books in the series: The Walker on the Cape, The Body on the T, Beneath the Surface and now A Twist of Fortune.

All of the books provide information and history about the local area that has been populated by fisherman from all over the world since the 1600s. They also highlight the culture, customs and food of Newfoundland which Windflower learns to love and enjoy as much as the locals. He also finds the love of his life and a place where he can feel at home.

The series has been compared to some British mysteries like Hamish MacBeth and A Touch of Frost. It has also been optioned for TV.

Where you may purchase Mike’s book:
Amazon UK
Chapters Indigo

Mike Martin

SAM_0045 Mike Martin

What is your latest release and what genre is it? The Body on the T is a traditional mystery set on the east coast of Canada

Quick description: The Body on the T is the second book in the Windflower mystery series and it follows up on the premiere, The Walker on the Cape. The story begins when an unidentified body washes up on a beach near Grand Bank, Newfoundland. The case becomes the responsibility of Sgt. Winston Windflower of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and his trusted side-kick, Corporal Eddie Tizzard.

There is also a devastating accident on the highway and another suspicious death to deal with. Throw in a rogue police officer and an international drug ring operating in the waters off the coast and Windflower’s peaceful world is turned upside down. Along the way Windflower also continues to enjoy the food and home-style hospitality of this part of the world. Cod tongues, pan seared scallops and even figgy duff become part of his diet, and his long list of favourite foods. Windflower may be a long way from his Cree home in Northern Alberta but he has found a new place to love in the fog and mist of Newfoundland.

The Body on the T FC

Brief biography:
Mike Martin was born in St. John’s, Newfoundland and now lives and works in Ottawa. He is a longtime freelance writer and his articles and essays have appeared in newspapers, magazines and online across Canada as well as in the United States and New Zealand. He is the author of Change the Things You Can: Dealing with Difficult People and has written a number of short stories that have peen published in various publications, including Canadian Stories and Downhome Magazine.

The Walker on the Cape was his first full-length fiction book and the premiere of the Winston Windflower mystery series. The second book in the series, The Body on the T was released on May 1, 2013.

He is a member of Ottawa Independent Writers, Capital Crime Writers, the Crime Writers of Canada and the Newfoundland Writers’ Guild.

Links to buy Mike’s book:
Amazon Worldwide – eBook & paperback
Chapters and Indigo – paperback
Kobo – eBook

Mike’s promo links:
Sgt. Windflower Mysteries Facebook Page

What are you working on now?
I have completed Book 3 of the Sgt. Windflower Mystery Series, Beneath the Surface, and it should be on the shelves spring 2014, so I will enjoy that book’s journey into the world. (Read the RR Update about this book here!) I am also thinking about Book 4 but I like those ideas to percolate, so I probably will not do any more major writing on that until later in the year. I think I may even write another book, not a Windflower, and maybe not even a mystery. But that too is still brewing on the back burner.

Mike’s reading recommendation:
Joseph Boyden’s The Orenda