Glenn Dixon

author-head-shot4Glenn Dixon

What is your latest release and what genre is it? Juliet’s Answer is a memoir. Published by Simon & Schuster in Canada and the United States, in May it will be released in Australia and New Zealand, Spain (Spanish translation) and China (where the story of Romeo and Juliet is quite famous).

Quick description: I taught Shakespeare to high school students for more than twenty years but when my heart was unexpectedly broken, I did something unusual. I went to Verona, Italy, to help answer the famous letters to Juliet. I was the only male among the secretaries of Juliet (a group of Italian women who have been answering the letters for decades). And, of course, I discovered a few things there that completely changed my life.

Verona old town and ponte pietra

Brief biography:
An author, musician and documentary film maker, Glenn Dixon has travelled through more than 75 countries and written for National Geographic, the New York Post, The Walrus, The Globe and Mail, and Psychology Today. He holds an M.A. in socio-linguistics and his second book, Tripping the World Fantastic, was shortlisted for the W.O. Mitchell Award. A high-school English teacher for 20 years, he left that to become a full time writer.

And reviews for Glenn’s book have already begun rolling in! Here’s a review that was just published in Canada’s The National Post. Also, Anne Logan has posted a review to her blog, I’ve read this.

Links to buy Glenn’s book:
Amazon
Chapters/Indigo
iTunes
Or your local independent book store

Glenn’s promo links:
Website
Twitter
Facebook

What are you working on now?
I’ve only just begun the next book, which will be a novel. My thinking is that I’ll never have a true life story to rival Juliet’s Answer again. That was one in a million.

Glenn’s reading recommendation:
My book has been described as a male version of Eat, Pray, Love. The thing is, I didn’t like that book very much. On the other hand, I recently read The Signature of All Things by the same author – Elizabeth Gilbert. It’s a novel and is absolutely brilliant. That one should have been the big best seller. It reminds me a little of Jane Eyre. It has that kind of classic quality.

3 thoughts on “Glenn Dixon

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.