Rohini Sunderam

mug dtRohini Sunderam

What is your latest release and what genre is it? Desert Flower; a romance set in 1930s Bahrain, written under the pen name Zohra Saeed

Quick description: Andrew MacInnis from Canada has come to work in Bahrain. One day he visits a Bahraini carpet merchant, who doesn’t speak much English, but his daughter has learned it at a special new school. She acts as translator for her father and although he never leaves the two alone, under his very nose, Andrew and Noor get to know each other and fall desperately in love. The lovers secretly plot to run away but the risks are terrible. Noor’s father may send members of the family to hunt them down and kill them. Do they escape? Will Noor have the nerve to follow Andrew’s plan or will centuries of a formidable culture and Noor’s upbringing prevent these two young lovers from following their hearts?

aaa-bookshelf-119g

Brief biography:
I am a semi-retired advertising copywriter and ever since I retired I have dedicated a bit more time to writing. I wrote two books as commissioned assignments while I was working, and my articles have been published in The Statesman, Calcutta, India, The Globe & Mail, Canada, and The Halifax Chronicle Herald, Nova Scotia, Canada. I contributed to the anthology My Beautiful Bahrain published in 2011 by (Miracle Publishing, Bahrain), More of My Beautiful Bahrain & Poetic Bahrain, (Robin Barratt Publishing UK). A poem was selected for publication in the international competition Poetry Rivals (Published by Remus House, UK) 2012. A story: Your rebirth, My death, placed 5th from 179 entries in the Atlantis Short Story contest 2013. And Last year Ex-L-Ence Publishing published my collection of light-hearted poems, Corpoetry. Early this year, Ex-L-Ence Publishing, released Desert Flower, which has had a little success. I chose the penname Zohra Saeed in order to give it a different persona. I also have a blog of occasional writing – Fictionpals.

Links to buy Rohini’s book:
Desert Flower is available through Amazon and on Smashwords. Choose your provider at Ex-L-Ence Publishing.

Rohini’s promo links:
Facebook Page
Blog
Amazon Author page
Twitter

What are you working on now?
I’m helping a friend with his memoir – it’s been returned from the editor and needs a lot of work! Somewhere in between I’m also plodding away at my w-i-p that I don’t want to talk about right now.

Rohini’s reading recommendation:
Khaled Hosseini – And the Mountains Echoed
Edward Docx – The Devil’s Garden (currently reading)
Kavery Nambisan – A Town Like Ours

4 thoughts on “Rohini Sunderam

Leave a Reply

